Posted by: janesandell | March 13, 2010

Book Buying on the Other Side of the World

I’m in Australia at the moment, visiting relatives.  Just now, I’m in Melbourne with cousins who know some great secondhand bookshops.  Without trying very hard I’ve bought three or four books, including Australian editions of  Anne of the Island and Dimsie Intervenes.  My cousin gave me a copy of Ethel Talbot’s Seven Little Australians, which I’ve never read.  But my real find came this morning when I bought an Australian edition of Merry Marches On by Clare Mallory.  I know I have a Girls Gone By edition in much better condition but I’ll treasure this first Australian edition.  Clare Mallory has been a recent discovery for me (thank you, Girls Gone By) and I’m so pleased to have one of her books published in her part of the world.

Leave a Reply

Categories

