Posted by: janesandell | December 7, 2009

Living in an O Douglas Novel

I’m soaking myself in the novels of O Douglas this week.  I have a cottage by Tweed in Peebles and honestly the town still seems like a place Anna Buchan would recognise.  I’ve always loved Peebles but I’ve never stayed here before and I’m so glad to be having this week out from the madness that is my usual life. 

I’ve brought Christmas cards to write, CDs to listen to, there’s snooker on television and I have some of my favourite O Douglas books with me.  At the moment I’m reading The House that is Our Own, her last finished book, and I’m thoroughly enjoying it.  I’ve just come out for a wander along the High Street (I’ve made it as far as the library) and I really wouldn’t be surprised to bump into Isobel Logan or Jean Jardine.

Unusually for me I haven’t brought any children’s books with me.  At least, I don’t think I have…  I have a brand new book with me, one about which I got very excited, that might be shelved in the teenage section (yes, I am a librarian!) but I think it’s actually an adult book.  Next time, I’ll tell you all about it…

Leave a Reply

Categories

