Posted by: janesandell | November 21, 2008

The Sandfather by Linda Newbery

I’ve never met a book by Linda Newbery that I didn’t like and I see no sign of that changing.  I’ve just read a proof copy of The Sandfather (thank you, Orion) due out in February.  It’s for primary school readers I’d say and I really enjoyed it.  So often I find that books for that age group are either very worthy or else have no content at all.  Happily that’s not the case with this.  Obviously, I don’t want to give too much away but it’s the story of Hal and how he finds what he’s looking for – even though things don’t turn out how he hopes.  The book has an excellent plot and is full of believable characters as you’d expect from something by Linda Newbery.  As an added bonus for me, it’s set in a town on the coast.  And I can smell the sea in it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

